Moody blue and golden fire

The best thing about winter in Norway is probably the blue light that occure about every day just before the dark of the night (which is not so dark when the landscape is covered with snow). We call it blåtimen, the blue hour, and it can have different colours of blue.

Even a residential area can look alraight in this kind of light. But every day is not the same, and if it is very cloudy or snowing a lot, the light might not be very blue or it last for a very short time. Like the other day when the afternoon suddenly got very foggy.

I walk around every day with the dog, and also everyday in the wintertime I have to make a fire to heat the house. It take some time carrying firewood and make sure the stove is burning but it is not a problem. Birch is the best firewood, and some birch bark and small pieces makes it easy to get going. I never use paper, or very little, because it produce a lot of ash that can actually extinguish the fire. The warmth from the fire is really nice and makes all the efforts worthwhile.

Here is a link to a website about the blue hour. You can see more these photos and other of my winter-photos in my web gallery.

37 thoughts on “Moody blue and golden fire

    1. Ahh, but the difference is you guys are normally well-prepared for it!! We are still rubbish, we never learn: we still have loads of car crashes, public transports grinds to a halt, and it doesn’t even get as cold as it does near you guys! But the snow does make for some wonderful photography, so every cloud has it’s silver lining 🙂

      Like

  1. Living in southern/central coastal California, where it has for most of winter felt more like summer, and where we never enjoy snowy forests, I sure long for a setting like you have captured in these wonderful blue photos! Superb.

    Like

  2. Hey! The blue light is amazing and you’ve captured it so beautifully. Great pictures!
    Also, thanks for liking my posts ‘You are imperfect, permanently and inevitably flawed. And you are beautiful,’ and I hate Valentine’s day.

    Like

  3. Absolutely gorgeous,,,,,,,the blue is incredible. I didn’t know you experienced that!
    Would it be too forward to ask what type of camera you use? With you behind it the images are awesome!

    Like

    1. Thank you! 🙂 These pictures are with a Canon 5D Mark II. It is heavy, so sometimes I carry my old EOS 400, or the compact G12. And sometimes I have no camera with me and have to use my mobile phone..

      Like

  4. I love the blue effect of the light on the snow. I find some of my early morning pictures taken in the shadow of the mountains have the same results.

    Thank you for stopping-by my blog this morning and letting me know you were there…now I know you’re here, too.

    I shall be visiting often.

    Like

  5. WOW! These are amazing photos thank you for stopping by my blog to lead me here! The trees, lighting and the puppy are all perfect, a wonderful series. The blue hour is something I had not heard of before but now I would like to visit Norway just to experience it. Seems so dreamy and beautiful.

    Like

    1. Thanks! 🙂 I guess you have something like the blue hours everywere, but in more southern places the light is maybe more orange, or pink, when the sun sets. And the sun sets more quickly other places..

      Like

Leave a Reply

