No comment

 

I read a lot of bloggs from around the world, and enjoy doing so a lot. But to day I was shocked, and sad. And that is why I write these few words. It was a photoblog, showing a photo of a coyote. A lone coyote.

And the text more or less like this: “I managed to get within 10 feet. I was going to set it free, but didn’t have anything to let it go once I saw the snare on it’s leg. Not knowing  how it would react.  I snapped a few photos and went on my way.  If only I had a set of wire cutters I may have tried to cut it loose since it seemed worn down from trying to get free.  I didn’t feel good about leaving it there, but had no choice since it wasn’t our property anyway.”

It was not possible to made a comment on this blog, so that is why I write about it here. I am so chocked. I know there may be other rules and legislations in other countries, and I am sure this person meant no harm, but who can take a photo of an animal in pain, and then just leave? In my country this is absolutly illeagal, to leave an animal in pain without ensuring it will get help if you can’t do it yourself. It does not matter whos property it is. It is also illegal to use a snare to catch mammals.

I do not write this to make this person eventuelly feel more bad. I write this because I hope all of us can do our best to help animals, or people, who are in urgent need.

24 thoughts on “No comment

  1. Good post. I agree. Just today there was a dead cat on the road on which I was driving. It broke my heart that there wasn’t a place to stop and move the poor creature. I wish I could have done so. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. This is the heaviest question a photographer has to face time to time. I had it many times.
      Can photographer be a pure observer = can be detached from the situation and responsibility ?
      Before photographer, we are the human being = still can the role to be a photographer over-ride
      the duty to be a human ?
      And can the eyes of the photographer be purely neutral —– isn’t it for a biased opinion ?
      Any photographer, photo-journalist knows [ How to enhance the visual effect by adjusting view point ]
      = that is how the assignment keep coming with a pleasure of the editor / client.

      In the same time like us the third-parties just reading a script don’t know the real situation there.
      Trapped, agitated animal is hardest to handle, even for an experienced animal handler.
      Dieing animal can give a deadly bite which may carry lethal rabies virus. = it may needed to have
      three people to rescue the animal ( one covering the animal with his jacket and holding the biting mouth
      closed, another holding the kicking legs and the another to deal with a wire with proper tool, if any there)
      = walk away while turned blind eyes might be a safest choice to a single photographer, and report to the authority saying that, they should rescue the animal while pretending to be a conscientious protector
      of the nature. (Authority may do nothing anyway)

      Saying nice humanistic words, words while sitting in the another world is easiest things to do.
      I know this blogger is in the front line, out in the field = know the situation better than me, still I wouldn’t
      stand the side to blame the photographer. His photo might turned out to be a campaign photo of the
      Animal right publications —– who knows.

      Like

  2. Bente thank for your post and for doing your part to honor the coyote. Many of us will be thinking of him/her today and the effort that you made has stirred our hearts and has placed the seed for action should we, or rather WHEN we, find ourselves faced with another being (animal or human) in urgent need.

    Like

  3. This breaks my heart. I was working on a poem about coyotes (and foxes) just yesterday. Maybe I will finish it today and post it as a tribute to this poor animal. It’s sad, but also good to hear kind words and concern about a misunderstood and often maligned creature (at least in my area).

    Like

  4. I am horrified. Not only is it legal in our country to torture animals like this, it is encouraged. There are coyote bounties in many western states. They are shot, trapped, poisoned (and therefore many “incidental” deaths occur as well–including pets), and otherwise tortured. Not just adults, but babies, too. In the US, few people understand the importance and value of predators in a natural setting. Whenever wolves are reintroduced into National Parks, attendance skyrockets. People pour into parks to see Grizzly Bears, Black Bears, Wolves, Coyotes. It’s easy to see elk, deer, and mountain goats. They overpopulate and destroy habitat. Even Aldo Leopold saw this back in the 1930s and 1940s when he wrote the seminole book on conservation and ecology, A Sand County Almanac. Dave Foreman’s Rewilding book is a perfect example of the importance of reestablishing this balance.
    Teach as hard as I can, and I still get students telling me that in Western Nebraska, they haul a dead carcass of a calf that didn’t make it behind the house. They hook up a spotlight and sit and wait in their second floor bedroom with shotguns and wait for the coyotes to show up.
    Sigh.
    As far as you photographer taking photographs, it’s better to document the suffering to hopefully put an end to this type of painful death than to not document it at all. Who knows, maybe he did report it? But yes, it’s legal to torture wild animals in this country. It’s a national embarrassment. We are not a civilized nation at all, in that sense.
    Respectfully yours.

    Like

  5. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I,m finding it hard to hold back my tears. Absolutely the coyote should have been helped! The photographer should have sought help one way or the other! Taking a photo is, some might say, a way to document this act, but we need to help our wildlife not try to destroy it. Maybe the coyote would have survived, maybe it would have died- but we all have an obligation to do what is right and that was not it!

    Like

  6. No one who really cares about living creatures would do something like that. It is too far over my head to understand why someone takes a photo rather than to help a wounded animal. l have so much respect of life that I don’t even eat animals.

    Like

  7. It was a lovely summer afternoon… I was watching outside from my window even with my cat. There was a lovely another cat under the afternoon sun, she was cleaning herself. Then a woman (who got her driving licence newly) with her car crashed the cat…. The cat was in pains in the mid of the road. I was so bad, I shouted her what she did… The woman stopped and went to the cat, watched her and then wanted to leave her like that… I was like so mad… Run out, without dressing… without shoes… and I told that we should have taken her to a clinic… because the cat was living… then the woman said ok, and I took the cat very carefull in the same position… in the clinic they didn’t save the cat. She died. The woman told me Thank you. And my answer was like that, I didn’t help you I tried to help this cat….

    I agree with you… Completely I agree with you. A few years ago my reaction was same when I read a poem that was written by someone who was explaining how he huntered the deer and how killed… My reaction was very strong and it started a big discussion…

    Anyway, I can’t stand these kind of things I lose my mind…
    Thank you,
    with my love,
    nia

    Like

  8. Bente
    Thanks for visiting my blog. The radiation in Japan has been all in the news this week. Cesium is going to manifest for years to come. how different from the nuclear bombs of world war 2 when we hardly knew what to expect from radiation exposure. It is a true loss of innocence.

    Like

  9. We live in a complex world of natural and man made environments. Since I am unsure of the location of the photographed coyote, I am unsure of the legal responsibilities of both the person who set the snare and the photographer. Like raccoons, and a number of other creatures, coyotes seem to adapt to man made environments very well. There are now reports of coyotes along the Canadian border that are inter-breeding with wolves. Imagine a wolf that behaves like a coyote,but works in packs like a wolf. Today the CBC radio featured an interview describing the problems with feral pigs (wild boar) that have are spreading through New York State on the border with Canada. There have been reports of wild boar along the North Shore above Lake Huron near my community. Ethical, moral, and legal issues will arise. The balance between Nature and human environments is always precarious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

