Sweet apple

I got my first apple tree about six years ago, and I have bought two more since then. One of the troubles for my apple trees are the roe deers, who do some really hard cutting of branches during winter, so the last two is really tiny, less than a meter high. The oldest have managed to grow quite a lot, but every year the harvest was only one apple. One. Then suddenly this year there were a lot. Some have a few black spots, but not one worm inside, and the taste: delicious. Absolutely the best apples in the world. I have even made apple jam and an apple cake, but the best thing is to go outside and just pick one, on my own apple tree. There are more photos in my fruit photo gallery.

26 thoughts on “Sweet apple

    1. They are not really that big and glorious, Sandy, but for me they are heaven. I have never heard about apple butter, and after google I know I have probably never tasted it either. My jam is just cut apples boiled with a little bit of sugar and water until soft, then mashed together. The result was quite light and tasty.

      Like

  1. Your “fruit gallery” look really good – I wonder if tomato in free (frilandstomater) could grow in Norway perhaps in Kristiansand, Larvik, Sandefjord down south but more north…? 🙂

    Like

    1. Actually on my terrace, Drake. Of course to the south and the warmest place possible, but I am still quite surprised myself. And the taste: WOW! If they only could get ripe a little faster. I think I have to go out to save the last green ones, it might freeze tonight..

      Like

  2. they are beautiful, and you are right, there’s nothing sweeter/finer/more satisfying than just-picked from your garden. two maracuya fruits (passionfruit) had dropped from the vines when i returned home today, and they had conveniently rolled on the deck and were waiting like bright-yellow easter eggs!

    a freeze tonight? ooh.. i am glad to be living at sea level on the equator!

    z

    Like

  3. Nice pics! I once mixed cheap Tabasco sauce with water (50:50) and sprayed it on a tree that deer wouldn’t let be. They never touched it again.🙂

    Like

  4. The apples look wonderful, Bente. Our apple tree went crazy this year too. I love being able to pull an apple off the tree and just eat it while it is still warm from the sun.

    Like

  5. Congratulations to your rich harvest. Even if I don’t like apples, I love apple pie. And with your so delicious looking apples it would be divine.
    Ha en fin fin helg!🙂
    Hilsen allesistgut

    Like

  6. I think apples are one of the most satisfying fruits to grow as you can do so much with them. I store some in the fridge to stop them ripening too much as I like them under-ripe to eat. Some can be wrapped in newspaper and will keep well in a cool place (above zero!) until after Christmas. I keep the stewed apples to eat with yoghurt, make jelly and jam. I do not know why apple jam is not so common, I just leave the fruit in pieces as you would for peaches and it makes lovely jam – no need to mash unless you prefer it like that. I also dried some in the oven last year but it takes leaving them overnight for such a small quantity, although they were delicious. Happy munching!

    Like

  7. Lovely image, Bente. Perfect to show what your fruit harvest looks like. I can imagine how delicious they are when picked fresh off the tree.

    In Australia we cook apples & sugar to make a puree which we call apple sauce (which is served with roast pork or pork chops as a sort of apple accompaniment to meat). In the old English tradition tart apples are used to help digest fatty meat (just as the English make mint sauce, or jelly, to help digest roast fatty lamb, Also the English use the herb sage (or salvia is the Botannical name) mixed with onion & breadcrumbs to make a stuffing for roast chicken to assist in digestion. Also cranberry sauce is traditional to serve with Roast Turkey at Christmas time.

    I’d almost bet that most Australians and people from England don’t even know why these herbs & fruits are eaten with meat, just that the tradition is handed down through the centuries.

    I prefer tart green apples cooked & pureed plain (no sugar).

    Interesting that you call cooked ‘apples & sugar’ jam.

    Like

  8. Elles sont magnifiques et avec la douceur des couleur sur la 1ère image , on peut voir que les pommes sont sucrées 🙂
    Je prépare souvent de la purée de pomme. En hiver , je mange cette purée avec du boudin ( sang de porc assaisonné et mis dans un boyau naturel ) vous connaissez le boudin ?

    Like

  9. Congratulations on those apples–we planted 2 trees 5 years ago, a third one last year. We had enough for 2 pies off one of the trees. Nothing on the other 2 yet. I can’t wait till they are producing lots more!!!!
    Enjoy every bite!

    Like

  10. I had two ancient apple trees, plus a younger one at my old house. They produced the most wonderful apples. I’ve been hearing from everyone around here that this was an extra good year for apples. I’ve been getting some from neighbors, but my old apple trees were the best.

    Like

  11. It’s so nice having your own trees, isn’t it? We used to have a couple of navel-orange trees in our yard when we lived in Arizona…the fruit was always nice, but I planted them so we could smell the blossoms every year…such a rich fragrance…. Your apple jam and cake sound tasty!

    Like

Leave a Reply

