A little bit of sunshine in Sharks Bay

Just before Easter I went on a week’s holiday to Egypt. I try to do this at least once a year, and always in winter. I live in a place that is actually very cold and very dark during winter, so it makes wonders with a few days of warmth and sunshine. Usually I do not go all inclusive, but for different reasons me and my friend went on such a deal this time. I usually do not, because the food and drinks are usually better in an ordinary restaurant, and I know the local community do not earn anything if every tourist goes all inclusive to a hotel owned by big, international hotel chain. This time it was Hilton who made the profits, but of course, they also create work for egyptians, even if it is underpaid.

I am sure to go to Egypt for vacation again, because such a trip gives some necessary vitamins of all kinds. But I never go during summer, because then it is too hot there, and too nice in Norway. Here is a link to some more pictures from Sharks Bay, which is located just outside Sharm El-Sheikh, and also a link to my Egypt photo galleries.

By the way, anybody knows the name of this flower? It was trees with big, purple or pink flowers and I have never seen this before.

25 thoughts on “A little bit of sunshine in Sharks Bay

  1. I think I saw this flower in Jeddha, Soudi Arabia.
    It completely baffled me. In a distance I thought it’s Azarea or Ochid though,
    Stamens looks like Lily but Pistil is never seen kind of shape.
    Explanation of a local man didn’t help me at all.
    You should send an inquiry to a botanist in Kew Garden, London, as they
    got the collection of the plant from all over the world.

    Like

  2. I have no idea what the name of the flower is. Frankly, I don’t know anything about flowers and plants😉. But I love your pictures. I’ve been to Egypte but not there… I’ve been to the desert and if you would like something else than all inclusive I recommend that!

    Like

  3. The tree is a bohenia – & the flowers are indeed lovely. I’m not sure what country they’re native too, but they grow all over Sydney & are very common where I live in Perth, Western Australia. I have one in my front yard & one in my back yard – the white flowering variety. And I am looking forward to when they are the huge trees they grow into🙂
    You liked my photos, I have discovered & now am following you🙂

    Like

      1. I’m no expert on botany but that is one flower that I recognise! The Bauhinia that you saw is native to my hometown, Hong Kong – it was discovered in the late 19th century (around 1880 I believe) and comes to full bloom in the winter.

        Like

  4. Hi Bente,

    At first glance, I thought it’s Gumamela, a local name for Hibiscus. But when I notice its leaf composition, it looks like from a family of Fabaceae, a Bauhinia species I guess which usually thrives in the tropics. I hope I remember it right as far as my dendrology course is concern🙂

    Regards,
    Mafey

    Like

Leave a Reply

